E-commerce App - UX case study

Where rent is a pleasure

Alok Mittal
6 min readNov 23, 2017

About the App

Beehive is an app that helps you in finding out products and services on rent on fare price. If you dont find it worth then you can also raise a dispute against the product owner or service provider. And it also helps product owner & service provider to grow their business & get fair price for their service or product without any bargain.

So, In simple words in BeeHive you can buy and sell products or services.

My Role

I follow the design process of BeeHive across mobile devices (ios and android). I partner with Project Lead (Pritika Tuteja) to gather competitive analysis, user information, translate business goals and user need into user flows, wireframes, detailed designs and prototypes. Worked closely with developers to deliver solutions and resources for final production.

The Approach

  1. Partner with Project Lead to plan and define the Mobile experience.
  2. Design user flows, wireframes, detailed designs and prototypes.
  3. Conduct meeting throughout the design process with stakeholders and the team.
  4. Iterate designs based on feedbacks gathered during meetings.
  5. Work closely with the developers to deliver solutions and resources for final production.

Industry Research

After I gather all the information I needed in order to move into the next phase of the process, I start doing competitor analysis. I looked at some mobile apps at the time Peer Renters, Rentomo, Upwork, Hipages to find out the pros and cons in the product.

User Persona

For better understanding of our target audience, we designed 2 different user personas, one for service provider and one for buyer. For this we also took help from our Australian design team.

Insights from the research

Problems for Buyers

  1. It is difficult for buyers to buy nearby products and services on rent.
  2. They are not able to compare the products and services available nearby.
  3. Hesitate to buy products on rent from unknown seller to avoid the risk of receiving damaged product.
  4. It is difficult to trust unknown service provider.
  5. They want to save time and money.

Problems for Sellers

  1. They don’t have proper earning because of less number of customers they have.
  2. They want to grow their business but can’t afford publicity.
  3. Customers return damaged products.
  4. It is difficult to manage multiple bookings. Because they are not following any schedule.

Content Structure

After looking at various products in the market, I got an Idea what the product should look like and how to be structure.

Mind Map

Wireframing

After I had a better understanding of user goals & behaviour, I have listed some key features of the app in order to create high fidelity wireframes. Wireframes gave me an idea that how things would look like and made my work easy for visual design. I design both low fidelity and high fidelity designs based on the project needs. I prefer high fidelity wireframe for content rich apps.

Detailed Designs and Prototyping

Once the wireframes were approved, I start working on detailed designs for ios as well as prototyping.

Tutorials
Home Screen

Home Screen

When I got the stories it was mentioned that I cant use any image or icon in categories tiles. Because categories will be added through backend and there will be no functionality of adding images and icons. So I designed a banner for it with search functionality, So that when user open the app he can directly search the desired product or service easily.

Product Listing & Product Details

Product Listing & Details

For product listing screen I increased the font size of rental price and separated it from other information, So that a user can easily filter the products while scrolling. I used rating to add social validation in it.

Product Availability Calendar

Calendar View

To view an availability or request a booking a user can open the calendar screen. When the user taps on a date, start date and end date at the top of the screen automatically picks it. And on next tap it picks up all consecutive dates. On third tap it clears the selection.

Service Availability Calendar

Service Availability Calendar

It was a challenge to make the functionality consistent with product availability calendar and to show the time slots. So when a user tap on a date it shows the available and booked time slots of that particular date. Then user can select preferred slot as long as he/she wants available.

Product Booking

Product Booking

For these screens I asked the user whether they want to pick the product from the seller or they want to get it delivered at their premises. In the first look both addresses are hidden but on selecting the option it display the address respectively.

Product Booking Request Confirmation

Confirmation

I had to inform the user that app will ask to deduct the security deposit amount 5 days before the rental starts date. So rather than showing a tappable link(like terms & conditions) I clearly displayed the message with a checkbox so that user can’t miss this useful information. And I display a message about cancellation policy on the confirmation page so that the user must be aware of it.

My Ads

My Posted Ads

I created a screen for My ads where I displayed all the ads posted by me with the accepted and pending request. On tapping on them it redirect me to the detailed screen of that ad where I have 2 tabs to view pending request and confirmed request. And I can take further actions on those requests respectively.

All Done!

I hope it gave you a little insight into the decisions I made. I am little proud to doing this project. This is no where perfect but I feel with its unique approach of managing tasks, this idea can help you to be productive.

Let me know what you think! Bye!

For more works, follow me on Dribbble & connect with me on LinkedIn.

Cheers!!

--

--